This semester, I'm taking "International Film Studies"
as part of my film studies minor.
It'd be fun, if
the professor wasn't so...opinionated.
In the first day of class, he actually warned us: "If you announce your love for a film that I hate, I will shoot down your thoughts about it."
Here's some
samples:
On
Steven Spielberg's Oscar winning bio Schindler's List:
"It's a movie
that teaches us that if you use a minority as a cheap labor force and claim
that you're doing so to save them, you'll be recognized as a hero."
On the movie that
no one saw this year:
Random Student:
"Sir, what did you think of The
Avengers?"
Professor: "Avengers was the type of movie that everyone
either liked or loved, that I vehemently hated."
On The Dark Knight Rises:
"It's an
extremely fascist movie. I mean, we have a foreigner, who helps the lower class
stand up to the 1%, and yet, our hero is a white guy who defends the 1% and we
have to cheer him on as he puts the lower class back in their place."
The last one
really got me. I don't mind people voicing their opinions (although it would
help he got his facts straight. Bane, the "foreigner" wasn't really trying
to help the lower class stand up for themselves. In reality, he was trying to
destroy Gotham by doing that, so it really doesn't count, but whatever). My
problem though, was how that comment made me realize I'd never be good at
film criticism.
According to
wikipedia, film criticism is the "analysis and evaluation of film." The people
doing this have to dissect a movie, practically scene by scene, to discuss its
worth. As a film lover, I'd always wanted to do something like that, but after
seeing my professor doing it, I doubt I can.
For me to find the merits of a movie, I do it by seeing how entertaining it is to me. I mean, even bad movies can be entertaining (Troll 2 anyone?), so to me, a movie has to be memorable in some way. If it's forgettable, then that's the biggest sin a movie can commit.
And, I also MUST form a bond with the characters. If it's a movie about despicable people doing despicable things, the film has to get me to root for them (which is the reason why I didn't like 2010's critically acclaimed, box office hit The Town, I ended up rooting for the cops to win since the main characters, bank robbers, weren't likable.)
But if a movie can get me to root for the characters, to cheer for them throughout the movie, or feel the pain, horror, or joy they're feeling onscreen, then the movie, to me, will be worth my time.
I mean, I can't dig deep into a film to determine what the hidden messages in it are. If it entertains me and I'm still talking about it the next day, then I know it's a good movie, not because it's secretly presenting some ideas to its audience.
I mean, it's the same reason why I can enjoy crap that's supposedly bad for me, like the 1st and last Transformers movie (it's pure dumb fun, that's it), and yet, not enjoy movies that are supposedly good for me like Gone With the Wind (Seriously, the movie is at least 90 minutes too long, and Scarlet O'Hara is one the most annoying film characters ever).
Either way, I'm glad I'm taking this class. I love film, and I'm glad the lesson it taught me about me and film criticism, it's showing me so much about film. I mean, it's a class on foreign films, so it's great to see a bunch of films every week that we normally don't see. Last week we were treated to Dreyer's Vampyr, one of the most visually stunning films I've ever seen (even if the film had no plot). And the week before, Vertov's Man with a Movie Camera, a brilliant silent documentary that shows us that film really can take you anywhere.
Besides, he admitted to shedding a few tears during the last few minutes of Dark Knight Rises, so it's not like he's completely heartless.
So, anyone think that they're up for film criticism?